Sweet-Spicy Melon Salad

It’s the time of the year to eat melon but I wanted it dressed up a little. I found this recipe in June 2003 Cooking Light Magazine. This was terrific and I’m not a fan of cantaloupe. I highly recommend making it at least 4 hours ahead or overnight (better) for the flavor of the jalapeno to really marry with the melons.

melon

This was refreshing with a bit of heat. Really nice. I added a few tablespoons of fresh mint which added additional freshness and flavor. When I make this again, I’ll experiment with the sugar and adding more melon. I don’t think it needed 1/2 cup of sugar but I’m not sure. If you try it differently, let me know how it works for you.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
1/2 small jalapeño pepper, thinly sliced
2 cups cubed honeydew melon
2 cups cubed peeled cantaloupe

Preparation:

Combine sugar and water in a small saucepan; bring to a boil, stirring until sugar dissolves. Remove from heat; add pepper. Chill.

Combine sugar mixture, honeydew, and cantaloupe in a large bowl. Cover and refrigerate 4 hours or overnight. Serve with a slotted spoon.

Cooking Light
JUNE 2003

3 thoughts on “Sweet-Spicy Melon Salad

Leave a Reply

