Leek, Gorgonzola and Rosemary Soup

I put this recipe in my “book” years ago and decided to dust it off (get rid of it or put it here) and try it. It caught my eye because it sounded interesting and I wondered if it could be pulled off and taste great too. I have one word…OMG…this is so good. The answer is yes!

I changed a few things – one, I didn’t have any vegetable stock so I used chicken stock. Two, I was cleaning some celery so I threw the tops of the celery in to simmer with the rosemary and third – I only used 4 ounces of Gorgonzola…a little goes a long way. You could even do three ounces and it would still be great. Prior to pureeing it, I took out the celery along with the rosemary.

rosemary

Leek, Gorgonzola and Rosemary Soup

My version came out to 6 1-cup servings of 231 calories each. Delicious.

4 rosemary sprigs
2 T olive oil
2 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed
3 medium leeks, sliced
4 cloves garlic, crushed
4 c. stock (veggie or chicken)\
4-5 oz. Gorgonzola, crumbled
1 t Dijon mustard
salt and pepper to taste

  1. Crush rosemary with a rolling pin to release the aroma and flavor.
  2. Heat oil in dutch oven and stir in potatoes and rosemary.
  3. Cover with lid – cook on low for 4-5 minutes. this will create steam in pan, preventing the potatoes from sticking.
  4. Stir in leeks and garlic. cook for a couple of minutes until they soften.
  5. Add sock and bring to a simmer for 10 minutes.
  6. Remove from heat and take out rosemary (and celery).
  7. Stir in Gorgonzola
  8. Place soup in blender or food processor (immersion…) and blitz until smooth.
  9. Season if needed with s&p. If consistency is too thick, add stock to thin. (I didn’t find this necessary).
  10. Serve with some fresh bread…walnut bread is really nice with this.
Be careful not to let soup boil or it will give it a grainy texture.

Original post February 27, 2014

Leave a Reply

