Cauliflower and Red Lentil Curry

I made this a few years ago and wanted to try it again to see if it was still worthy of my rating of a 10 – and it is. It has an amazing flavor. I used really good curry which I’m sure makes a difference. It’s a great, basic curry recipe. I served it with brown jasmine rice, cooked with green onions, ginger and cilantro. I’m including a link to the original recipe – I made a few changes that I noted below.

curry

Cauliflower and Red Lentil Curry

1/2 cup red lentils, rinsed (I doubled)
1 onion chopped
2 tsp. curry – preferably Madras
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp turmeric
2 c water
4 cups cauliflower florets
2 chopped carrots (my addition – not in original recipe)
4 plum tomatoes, chopped and seeded or one 14oz can dices tomatoes, drained/(I used the whole tomato)
1 jalapeno, halved, seeded and thinly sliced
1 T canola oil
1 T cumin seeds
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp minced fresh ginger
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (I sprinkled this in…taste first, then add)
2 T lemon juice
1 T chopped fresh cilantro
1 tsp sugar (I omitted)
1 block extra firm tofu (my addition)
I served with a little non-fat yogurt too

  1. Combine lentils, onions, curry powder, salt, turmeric and water in a large saucepan over low heat; bring to a simmer. Cover, stir occasionally until lentils are soft and sauce has thickened – about 45 minutes.
  2. Add tomatoes, cauliflower and jalapenos – simmer, covered until cauliflower is tender – 8 – 10 minutes. Remove from heat.
  3. Heat oil in small skillet. Add cumin seeds and cook for about 10 seconds over med-high heat. Add garlic and ginger; cook stirring until the garlic is lightly browned, about 1 minute. Stir in cayenne and immediately add the oil-spice mixture to the cauliflower mixture. Stir in lemon juice, cilantro and sugar. Taste and adjust seasonings with additional salt and cayenne

Original post February 24, 2014

Leave a Reply

