Golden Winter Soup

I have a potato leek soup recipe that I’ve misplaced so I’m venturing out with this dish known as potage in French. A little irony for this venture is that I forgot the leeks. I’m improvising with shallots and a yellow onion in place of the leeks. I also threw in a green onion for good measure. 🙂

butternut potato soup

Golden Winter Soup

This is a really delicious and hearty soup. I followed the directions for the most part (minus the leeks and full fat 1/2 and 1/2). The recipe suggests a Pinot Noir to accompany – which is what I’m serving…along with a broccoli, kale, cabbage and brussel sprout salad with poppy seed dressing, raw pumpkin seeds with a tiny bit of bacon on top.

YUM!! Very Good….I’ll definitely make this again – and see how it tastes with leeks!

Original post February 16, 2014

Leave a Reply

