Peppered Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy

Instead of prime rib, ham or turkey, we decided to have filet mignon for Christmas dinner. I looked for a recipe with a red wine, mushroom sauce. This one sounded good but I wanted to combine an idea from another recipe which is where the “Peppered” comes in.

I’m linking to the recipe I followed – I used flour instead of cornstarch to thicken (1T with 3T water) and I peppered the meat prior to searing it. I also used crimini mushrooms instead of white.

This was an excellent recipe but you really can’t go wrong with a good filet. It was so tender and the sauce was delicious. I’d use this sauce for any steak – it was really good.

filetmignon

Peppered Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy

Original post December 25, 2013

Leave a Reply

