Cream of Mushroom Soup with Sherry

I accidentally bought too many mushrooms so I’m making soup. This is from December 2003 Cooking Light. The recipe calls for both crimini and shiitake but I ended up using all crimini. The shiitakes would have added a smoky, possibly deeper mushroom flavor. My thought is if it’s not “mushroomy” enough, I can sprinkle truffle oil on each serving – the soup is only 71 calories per cup and 1.9 grams of fat…it can handle a little truffle oil. 🙂

I know there are arguments for both side of the “washing the mushroom” and let me just say, these crimini need more than a brushing off with a paper towel. I’m on the side that washes – I can handle a little more water with no manure.

This recipe is much lower in fat and calories than typical cream based soups. I used fat free half and half and a little more than 6 tablespoons – just for the color :). I also used Madeira instead of Sherry…they’re pretty close in flavor for cooking (which is all I’d do with either of them!).

Excellent soup!! I have to say the truffle oil MADE the soup! I used about 1/4 – 1/2 tsp each bowl…to taste.

mushroom soup

Cream of Mushroom Soup with Sherry

Original post December 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

