Wild Mushroom and Lentil Cottage Pie

Always on the hunt for really filling and yummy meatless meals, this one grabbed my attention. I love Shepherd’s Pie and this sounded a lot like it – minus the meat.

So, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. Where it calls for packages of exotic mushroom blends, I used the real deal with the exception of one 5 ounce bag of porcinis (I wanted to use the broth – you need to strain it really well to make sure you get the “grit” out). I used the broth from the porcini mushrooms with the flour instead of using vegetable broth. I used fresh oyster, crimini and shiitake mushrooms. Other than that, I followed it pretty closely.

I don’t know that I’m a fan of buttermilk for the mashed potatoes. I didn’t care for the “sour” taste but with the rest of the meal, it was excellent. I loved it, will make it again and didn’t feel like I was missing out with no meat – in fact, I didn’t miss it at all.

Oh – and the truffle oil rocked it. I added a wee bit of freshly grated Parmesan with the chives.

wildmush2

Wild Mushroom and Lentil Cottage Pie

Cooking Light, December 2009

Original post December 7, 2013

Leave a Reply

