Spaghetti Squash

I must preface this first part by saying, pasta is one of my go to foods. I love it. So, when spaghetti squash was being touted as the bomb with marinara sauce, I was really excited. Unfortunately, I was underwhelmed and thought “nah” on spaghetti squash. That was a few years ago. A few weeks ago at work I ordered a fish dish and it had slices of spaghetti squash, roasted in the skin, and I loved it and couldn’t wait to try it at home.

I picked up a small one and carefully (they’re hard to cut) sliced it in two and scooped out the seeds. Preheated the oven to 350, put some parchment paper on a baking sheet and placed both halves, cut side up on the baking sheet. I also sprayed each with olive oil and added a little salt and pepper. For kicks, I quartered a red onion and put half in each piece of squash. Baked for an hour – put some Parmesan on it and serve it with a salad…it’ll go with anything.

Laurie loved it with marinara…I loved it with parmesan and wine.

photo 1Spaghetti Squash with Marinara

Original post December 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

