Roast Turkey with Sage Pan Gravy and Fennel, Sausage and Caramelized Apple Stuffing

Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday and I love to make a (kind of) traditional turkey dinner. Meat however is not my forte so I got excited when I saw this recipe in last years Cooking Light. I didn’t vary much. More garlic, I used turkey broth instead of chicken and my turkey was only 9 or 10 pounds. However, even for a 10 pound turkey, the cooking time recommended was not enough. It need about an hour more.

The stuffing: I’ve never made this recipe before but it sounded amazing. I halved the recipe and the problem with that was that as I was making it, I kept forgetting. So, I may or may not have followed the recipe completely. I used a sourdough baguette for the bread which was a little more difficult to cut into cubes and it didn’t make a difference in the big picture. It was very tasty – especially with the pan gravy (this turned out REALLY well!) and the cranberries and roasted broccoli and mashed potatoes and…of course, pumpkin pudding. 🙂

turkey dinner 3

Roast Turkey with Sage Pan Gravy Recipe

Fennel, Sausage, and Caramelized Apple Stuffing Recipe

In spite of the turkey needing more oven time, the dinner was excellent and worth the time in the kitchen. Happy Thanksgiving Day all.

Original Post November 29, 2013

Leave a Reply

