Butternut Squash – White Bean Soup

This is a very good fall soup – savory and sweet and a little on the spicy side. The flavor was amazing – very different from most butternut squash soups. Served with a side salad, parmesan garlic rolls and white wine. Excellent dinner!

butternut soup

Butternut Squash White Bean Soup

 I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. I substituted fat free half and half for heavy whipping cream and used close to 1/2 cup (instead of 1/4). Prior to adding the white beans, I pureed everything. It was a hit but a wee bit too spicy for me. In the future, I’ll sprinkle a bit of ground red pepper instead of the amount (1/8 tsp) in the recipe…yes, I’m a bit wimpy. (Forgot to mention – I served plain non-fat yogurt also. It helped with the heat.)

The parmesan garlic rolls were also a Cooking Light recipe (August 2005) that I can’t find on the internet so here it is. I altered – no salt needed and I happened to have Asiagio that I used instead of parmesan.

Garlic-Parmesan Rolls

  • Preheat oven to 425.
  • Unroll 1 (13.8 ounce) can refrigerated pizza crust dough on a lightly floured surface; pat into a 15×10 inch rectangle.
  • Combine 2 tbsp melted butter, 1/4 tsp salt, and 2 minced garlic cloves; brush evenly over dough.
  • Sprinkle evenly with 1/2 cup thinly sliced fresh basil and 1/2 cup grated fresh Parmesan cheese.
  • Starting at long edge, roll up jelly-roll fashion. Cut into 12 (1-inch) slices.
  • Place slices, 2 inches apart, on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  • Bake at 425 for 12 minutes or until golden.

Originally Posted November 17, 2013

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash – White Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

